Diving in Mauritius is possible all the year round. The best time is during the austral summer from November to April where the water temperature can reach 29 degrees Celsius. In the winter the water cools considerably and can go down to 20 degrees Celsius, the sea is often rough and the visibility worsens.


In our centre, we have been diving for over 25 years. The experience gained over the years has provided us with many skill and much knowledge of the underwater environment. It was our father, Louis Alexandre Anselme better known under the name “Captain Mimi”, who introduced us to diving. He was the first in Mauritius to take people to dive in the sea. That was in 1952 for the Royal Navy! Since then he has documented the many dive sites, each one more beautiful than the other. It was he who coordinated the project of the Mauritius Underwater Group (MUG) to scuttle the first wreck to make an artificial reef. The boat, named Water Lilly, was scuttled on 30 August 1980, off-shore of Trou-aux-Biches and 25 meters deep.


After the retirement of our father, we took up the baton. We host people who have never dived (First Dive). For experienced divers, we guide them to the sites depending on their level. We give you the guarantee of safe dive management and provide you with all the necessary information before the dive. During the dive, we will show you the hidden wonders of our sites: rare or endemic fish, the very discreet stonefish, invertebrates of all kinds, the octopus in his hiding place and many other things that you might not perceive without our discerning eye.


Come and dive with us in a warm and family atmosphere. Diving is, for us, a family story handed down from father to son. Our small company is very different from the “factory dives” of which there many around the world. Safety, fun and discovery first!



                                   Johnny et Jacky ALEXANDRE



© Captain Mimi' Diving Center - Webdesign & Photos: © Fabrice Bettex

La plongée à l'ìle Maurice est possible toute l'année. La meilleure saison est durant l'été austral, de novembre à avril. La température de l'eau peut atteindre 29 degrés. En hiver, l'eau se rafraîchit notablement et peut avoisiner les 20 degrés, la mer est souvent plus agitée et la visibilité moins bonne.


Dans notre centre, nous pratiquons la plongée depuis plus de 25 ans. L'expérience acquise durant ces années nous a procuré de nombreuses aptitudes et connaissances du milieu sous-marin. C'est notre père Louis Anselme Alexandre plus connu sous le nom de "Capitaine Mimi" qui nous a initié à la plongée. Il a été le premier à l'île Maurice à emmener des gens en mer pour faire de la plongée. C'était en 1952 pour la Royal Navy! Depuis lors, il a répertorié les nombreux sites de plongées, plus beaux les uns que les autres. C'est aussi lui qui a coordonné le projet du Mauritius Underwater Group (MUG) de saborder la première épave pour en faire un récif artificiel. Le bateau, nommé Water Lilly, fut sabordé le 30 août 1980, au large de Trou aux Biches par 25 mètres de profondeur.


A la retraite de notre père, nous avons repris le relai. Nous initions les personnes n'ayant jamais plongé (baptême). Pour les plongeurs initiés, nous les guidons sur les sites dépendant de leur niveau. Nous vous donnons la garantie d'un encadrement en toute sécurité et vous procurons toutes les informations nécessaires avant la plongée. Durant la plongée, nous vous montrerons les merveilles cachées de nos sites: poissons rares ou endémiques, poisson-pierre très discret, invertébrés de toutes sortes, poulpe enfoui dans sa cachette et bien d'autres choses que vous n'apercevriez probablement pas sans notre oeil averti.


N'hésitez pas à venir plonger avec nous dans un cadre chaleureux et familial. La plongée est pour nous une histoire de famille transmise de père en fils. Notre petite structure est bien différente "des usines à plongeurs" comme il en existe beaucoup autour du monde. Sécurité, plaisirs et découvertes avant tout!



                                   Johnny et Jacky ALEXANDRE



© Captain Mimi' Diving Center - Webdesign & Photos: © Fabrice Bettex